The how exactly to setup APA formatting in Word 2016


Instructions to format an APA paper in Word 2016:

  • APA format requires certain formatting that is font. To begin, open a document that is new Word while making sure the Home tab is selected. When you look at the Font Group, s et your font to Times New Roman, size 12 pt.

  • Next, while in the Home tab, seek out the Paragraph group, and click regarding the bottom hand arrow that is right. Once the Paragraph dialog box appears, change the settings to Double line spacing and be sure to set the before and after spacing to 0pt. Close the window.

  • To start setting up your title page, choose the Center paragraph alignment located in the Paragraph group into the true home tab.

  • Now type the title of your paper,and hit Enter in the keyboard to move to the next line. Next, type your name, hit Enter in the keyboard again, and type “NWTC” (or “Northeast Wisconsin Technical College”) all essay help entries ought to be on separate lines.
  • The title page information should down be farther the page. Position the insertion point/cursor before the start of the title. Press Enter once or twice to position the written text within the top third of the page. It ought not to be any less than halfway down the page.

  • To start out the second page, position the insertion point/cursor at the end of the word “College” (or after “NWTC”). Go through the Insert tab in order to find all pages and posts group, then Page Break. Click on thePage Break button to maneuver towards the line that is first of 2. Then, type the title of one’s press and essay enter.

  • To create the sentence that is first of essay, get back to the Paragraph group regarding the Home tab, and set the written text to left-align.

  • Press Tab once (in the keyboard) to indent the paragraph that is first and begin typing.

  • You will be now ready to set within the header. Scroll back as much as the top of the document, and double-click any place in the blank area at the top the page. This may open the header. In addition it selects the Design tab for you personally. Aim to your options group, then look at the First Page” that is“Different box. Do this before you type anything into the header.

    To add your page numbers, click on the Design tab

  • Then select the Page Number option, choose “Top of Page”, and then choose “Plain Number 1”. (in the event that you simply type a number, that number will soon be on each page.)

  • Now, type the text “Running head:” and also the title of one’s essay. Make sure to put the title associated with essay in most CAPS, nor capitalize “head”.

  • Press the Tab key twice to maneuver the page number up to the margin that is right. (HINT: In headers and footers, the tab key moves to three position, left justified, center justified, and right justified)

  • Now, scroll down and soon you begin to see the header space for page 2. Insert the page number using the exact same process as in steps 9, 10, and 11 above. Truly the only difference is that these pages will not require the words “Running head.” Just type the title of your essay in most CAPS.

  • You have finally finished setting up your document in APA format. Double-click anywhere within the body that is main of document to close the header view (or click the Close Header and Footer button). Head to page 2 to keep typing your essay. We highly recommend that as of this true point you “Save As” your paper to preserve all the formatting just done.
  • When you have completed your paper, you will have to include a page that is separate the conclusion for your References.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *